What are the statutory public holidays in Australia?

Public holidays in Australia can vary depending on the state or territory where an employee works. Those states and territories are as follows: Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Victoria, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, or Western Australia. 

These 13 public holidays are generally recognised:  

  • New Year's Day 
  • Australia Day 
  • Canberra Day 
  • Good Friday 
  • Easter Saturday 
  • Easter Sunday 
  • Easter Monday 
  • Anzac Day  
  • Reconciliation Day 
  • Queen's Birthday 
  • Labour Day 
  • Christmas Day 
  • Boxing Day 

If you have questions about wages and hours regulations in Australia, please get in touch with our team today! 

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article