What are the public / bank holidays in Nigeria?

Nigeria observes several national bank holidays that are fixed or based on Islamic and Christian religious calendars. Here are the main national holidays:

  • New Year's Day - January 1
  • Good Friday - Date varies (based on the Christian calendar)
  • Easter Monday - Date varies (based on the Christian calendar)
  • Workers' Day - May 1
  • Democracy Day - June 12
  • Id el-Fitr - Date varies (end of Ramadan, based on the Islamic calendar)
  • Id el-Kabir - Date varies (based on the Islamic calendar)
  • Independence Day - October 1
  • Christmas Day - December 25
  • Boxing Day - December 26

In addition to these, there are other public holidays that might be declared by the government, such as for general elections or special occasions. The holidays based on the Islamic calendar, like Id el-Fitr and Id el-Kabir, vary each year according to the lunar calendar, so their specific dates change annually. 

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article